The Latest

May 20, 2014 / 2 notes
By combining the rapid play-by-play excitement of competitive soccer games with the methodical psychological breakdown and buildup of a troubled man, Zaremski manages to deliver a contemplative yet compelling book that lovers of language and sports will enjoy. Read the full review: http://fwdrv.ws/1sWIkTq
May 16, 2014

By combining the rapid play-by-play excitement of competitive soccer games with the methodical psychological breakdown and buildup of a troubled man, Zaremski manages to deliver a contemplative yet compelling book that lovers of language and sports will enjoy. Read the full review: http://fwdrv.ws/1sWIkTq

Congrats to Wisdom Tales Press for winning 12 awards from MIPA last night! They have earned numerous accolades from Foreword Reviews:http://fwdrv.ws/1iXLLWO
May 15, 2014

Congrats to Wisdom Tales Press for winning 12 awards from MIPA last night! They have earned numerous accolades from Foreword Reviews:http://fwdrv.ws/1iXLLWO

The art of storytelling is not limited to mere journalism. In fact, it revels in the improbable and the unexpected, even as its focus remains on the real.

Robert Coover discusses his story in this week’s issue: http://nyr.kr/1l4IVgS (via newyorker).

At Foreword Reviews we celebrate the art of great storytelling from indie authors and publishers.

(via npr)

May 15, 2014 / 600 notes
May 15, 2014
May 15, 2014 / 423 notes
publishersweekly:

Chipotle Cups Will Now Feature Stories by Jonathan Safran Foer, Toni Morrison, and Other Authors

How did they come up with this idea? Are Chipotle customers big readers or are they trying to attract a new customer base?
May 15, 2014 / 39 notes

publishersweekly:

Chipotle Cups Will Now Feature Stories by Jonathan Safran Foer, Toni Morrison, and Other Authors

How did they come up with this idea? Are Chipotle customers big readers or are they trying to attract a new customer base?

May 14, 2014 / 3 notes
May 14, 2014 / 83,036 notes

wocinsolidarity:

Attanya: #WeNeedDiverseBooks because I love science fiction and fantasy books, but I’m tired of authors treating dragons and robots and magic as more plausible than black and brown characters

Jennifer: #WeNeedDiverseBooks because… when I was 13 a white girl told me it was selfishthat all of the protagonists in my stories were Latina because she “just can’t relate to nonwhite characters.” She made me feel guilty for writing about people like me. 

Aiesha: #WeNeedDiverseBooks because…Black Girls are more than sidekicks or “sassy, ghetto friend”

Facts and Figures About Race/Ethnicity in YA and Children’s Lit:

#WENEEDDIVERSEBOOKS

Posting this a little late, but followers please take the time out to check out this post explaining the #WeNeedDiverseBooks campaign and more events to come over the next few days! 

Fascinating interview with David Young, author, flutist, and one chosen to channel George Harrison: http://fwdrv.ws/1nJ1YCk
Apr 30, 2014

Fascinating interview with David Young, author, flutist, and one chosen to channel George Harrison: http://fwdrv.ws/1nJ1YCk